BCIA Certifications and Credentials

Professional certification is the voluntary process by which a non-governmental entity grants a time-limited recognition to an individual after verifying that predetermined and standardized criteria have been met. Because biofeedback is an unregulated field, certification is crucial for providing standards of care. To be viable as a professional service, standards of competence and clinical practice must be defined and measured. Since 1981, BCIA has taken on this task and offers certification programs in Biofeedback, Neurofeedback (also called EEG biofeedback), HRV Biofeedback, and Pelvic Muscle Dysfunction Biofeedback. Through the BCIA recertification program, each certificant is held accountable to a code of ethics, obtains specified continuing education, and maintains proper credentialing appropriate for clinical practice.  Additionally, BCIA offers a certificate of completion in Heart Rate Variability.

  • Biofeedback - this program includes all peripheral modalities such as EMG, Thermal, and GSR.  Individuals certified in Biofeedback may utilize all biofeedback modalities including EMG, temperature, skin conductance, and HRV.
  • Neurofeedback - this program is strictly for brain wave feedback, sometimes called EEG biofeedback.  Individuals exclusively certified in Neurofeedback, commonly called EEG Biofeedback, are certified to utilize only that specialty modality.
  • Pelvic Muscle Dysfunction - this program is for those medical professionals who use SEMG biofeedback to treat elimination disorders and chronic pelvic pain.  The Pelvic Muscle Dysfunction Biofeedback Certification is only for licensed providers wishing to use biofeedback and behavioral interventions to treat elimination disorders and pelvic pain within their scope of practice.
  • HRV Biofeedback - this program is for appropriately trained health care or sports/performance professionals.  Individuals certified in HRVB may also have additional training in biofeedback orneurofeedback; however this certification is specific to only HRV Biofeedback.

BCIA also offers a certificate of completion in HRV Biofeedback.


Trademarked Credentials
BCIA has trademarked three terms
that certificants should use on their business cards, conference name badges, directory listings, PowerPoint presentations, speaker listings, and websites where allowed.
BCB designates Board Certified in Biofeedback.
BCN designates Board Certified in Neurofeedback.
BCB-PMD designates Board Certified in Pelvic Muscle Dysfunction Biofeedback.

BCB-HRV designates Board Certified in Heart Rate Variability Biofeedback. Only those who complete the full certification in HRV Biofeedback can use the BCB-HRV, which designates Board Certified in Heart Rate Variability Biofeedback; however, we have not yet completed the trademark process.

There are different levels of each certification program based on one's health care background, experience, or how the different modalities are used in one's professional practice.

  • Basic or clinical certification is available for individuals with appropriate health care backgrounds who are allowed to use the modality to treat medical and/or psychological disorders, either independently under their own license, or under appropriate legal supervision.  Those with a health care degree, but no license, may also use the techniques for peak or optimal performance with their clients.
  • Technician certification is available for Biofeedback, Neurofeedback, and Pelvic Muscle Dysfunction; however, only within the United States and Canada. This program is intended for individuals with no specific health care education who use the modalities under a BCIA Certified supervisor’s license.
  • Certification by Prior Experience (CPE) is available for both the clinical and the technician level certifications.  This program also includes completing the certification exam.

All certification programs include a requirement of strict adherence to the Professional Standards and Ethical Principles of Biofeedback.

Certification programs are based on:

  • prerequisite educational degrees, except for the Technician certification
  • proof of human anatomy or neuroanatomy course work
  • didactic course work that is based on the Blueprint of Knowledge statements covering the fundamental science, history, and theory of biofeedback specific to that certification program
  • clinical training or mentoring to learn the application of skills
  • successful completion of the written certification exam

Certification is no substitute for a state-issued health care license. BCIA’s certificants must carry an appropriate license/credential valid in the state of practice in a BCIA-approved health care field when independently treating a medical or psychological disorder. If unlicensed, the certificant must work under appropriate legal supervision and the licensing body of their their supervisor has legal jurisdiction over any work with patients diagnosed with medical or psychological disorders.

Recertification:  Certifications are valid for a set time period: Four years for Biofeedback, HRV Biofeedback, and Neurofeedback and three years for Pelvic Muscle Dysfunction Biofeedback. Recertification is granted upon application, payment of fees, documentation of accredited continuing education specific to the Blueprint, and adherence to the Professional Standards and Ethical Principles of Biofeedback.


Who is BCIA?
BCIA Board of Directors
What is Certification?
BCIA Certifications and Credentials
Who Recognizes BCIA Certification?
Why Choose a BCIA-Certified Professional?
Support Our Partners