Which Certifications Does BCIA Offer?

BCIA has four certification programs:

  • Biofeedback
  • HRV Biofeedback
  • Neurofeedback
  • Pelvic Muscle Dysfunction Biofeedback

Individuals certified in biofeedback may utilize all biofeedback modalities including EMG, Thermal, GSR, respiration training and HRV. Individuals certified in HRV Biofeedback may only just this modality as described and either biofeedback or neurofeedback, depending upon their previous experience and which application was filed.  Those certified exclusively certified in Neurofeedback, commonly called EEG Biofeedback, are trained to utilize only that specialty modality of measuring and training the electricity in the brain. The Pelvic Muscle Dysfunction Biofeedback Certification is only for licensed providers wishing to use biofeedback and behavioral interventions to treat elimination disorders and pelvic pain within their scope of practice. All certification programs include a requirement of strict adherence to the Professional Standards and Ethical Principles of Biofeedback of BCIA.

All certification programs are based on:

  • prerequisite educational degrees, except for the Technician program
  • proof of human or neuroanatomy/physiology, human biology course work
  • didactic course work that is based on the Blueprint of Knowledge statements that cover the fundamental science, history, and theory of biofeedback specific to that certification program
  • clinical training or mentoring to learn the application of skills
  • certification exam

Certification is no substitute for a state-sanctioned license. BCIA’s certificants must carry an appropriate license/credential valid in the state of practice in a BCIA-approved health care field when treating a medical or psychological disorder. If unlicensed, the certificant must work under appropriate legal supervision. The licensing body of your biofeedback or neurofeedback provider or their supervisor has legal jurisdiction over his or her clinical practice.

Certifications are valid for a set time period: 4 years for Biofeedback, HRV Biofeedback and Neurofeedback and 3 years for Pelvic Muscle Dysfunction Biofeedback. Recertification is granted upon application, payment of fees, documentation of accredited continuing education specific to the Blueprint, and adherence to the Professional Standards and Ethical Principles of Biofeedback.

About BCIA
Why Choose a BCIA-Certified Professional?
Which Certifications Does BCIA Offer?
Overview of Biofeedback Areas
Find a Practitioner
Learn About Disorders Treated By Biofeedback and Neurofeedback
When You Are Unsatisfied with Your Biofeedback Services
Legitimate Biofeedback Equipment